Taskforce first meeting with CTU leaders
    Wellington 2 October 2000

    WELCOMING MAYORS to the CTU (left to right) Paul Goulter (CTU Secretary), Peter Conway (CTU Economist), Ross Wilson (CTU President) and Judith Byrne (CTU Social Policy Analyst)

    CTU and Mayors For Jobs To Work Together

    04 October 2002
    Press Statement from Council of Trade Unions

    On 2nd October the CTU hosted a large delegation of Mayors to discuss ways in which the Mayors for Jobs Project could cooperate with the CTU on employment and training initiatives, particularly for young people.

    Ross Wilson, CTU President, expressed interest in a memorandum of understanding that could lead to practical steps that would make a difference in terms of employment and training.

    The Mayor of Christchurch, Garry Moore, who heads the Mayors for Jobs Project, invited the CTU to participate in the Project and set out details of their work to date.

    The CTU then presented a report on union involvement in industry sector development, regional initiatives, skills-based training, and the growth and innovation framework.

    Mayors were presented with copies of the CTU publication Unions, Innovation and Sustainable Development.

    Paul Goulter, CTU secretary asked the Mayors for assistance with regional meetings that could involve unions in employment and training initiatives.

    The meeting concluded with all concerned agreeing to work together on these issues.

    MAYORS AT THE CTU (left to right)Pat O'Dea (Mayor of Buller), Sue Morris (Mayor of Ruapehu), Yvonne Sharp (Mayor of Far North), Paul Matheson (Mayor of Nelson), Frana Cardno (Mayor of Southland), David Braithwaite (Mayor of Hamilton), Tim Shadbolt (Mayor of Invercargill), Sukhi Turner (Deputy Chair of Taskforce, Mayor of Dunedin), Graeme Ramsey (Mayor of Kaipara), Chris Lux (Mayor of Thames-Coromandel), Peter Conway (CTU Economist), Judith Byrne (CTU Social Policy Analyst), Jenny Brash (Mayor of Porirua), Eric Tait (Mayor of Otorohanga), (front row) Paul Goulter (CTU Secretary), Ross Wilson (CTU President), Garry Moore (Chair of Taskforce, Mayor of Christchurch), and Jan Francis (Executive Officer of Taskforce). (click image for larger picture)