Sign-up of "Principles of Partnership" with
    Community Employment Group
    5 March 2001

    The Mayors Taskforce for Jobs has signed a formal agreement with the Community Employment Group (of the Department of Labour) to work together on common objectives. The “Principles of Partnership” will see local CEG field officers working more directly with Mayors participating in the Taskforce.

    The agreement follows on from the “Memorandum of Understanding” signed between the government and the Mayors Taskforce in September last year. Under the latest agreement, the CEG support to the Mayors Taskforce will be become one of its “national strategies”.

    The participating Mayors will “champion” local projects and activities which strengthen local employment and community economic development opportunities. The CEG field officers will be providing advisory, planning and liaison support directly to the Mayors and their local project teams.

    mtfj-mar01-ceg.jpg - 34138 Bytes (left to right) Archie Dixon (CEG Whangarei), Julie Pearce (CEG Dunedin), Charlie Moore (GEG General Manager), Garry Moore (Mayor of Christchurch, chair of Taskforce), Danny Gresham (CEG Geraldine),Hilary Allison (CEG Head Office),Vivian Hutchinson (Community Adviser to the Mayors Taskforce),Jay Sepie (CEG Head Office),Jenny Nelson (CEG Hawkes Bay),Jan Francis (Executive Officer of Mayors Taskforce), and Jenny Brash (Mayor of Porirua).