Meeting with Government Ministers
    at Wellington City Council 19 October 2000

    Mayors Taskforce meeting at the Wellington City Council chambers, chaired by Jill White (Mayor of Palmerston North).

    (left) Ruth Dyson, Associate Minister of Social Services and Employment (Responsible for Disability Issues) and Steve Maharey, Minister of Social Services and Employment, Minister Responsible for the Community and Voluntary Sector, and Minister of Tertiary Education. (right) Graeme Ramsey (Mayor of Kaipara) and Alan Dick (Napier).

    (left to right) Garry Moore (Mayor of Christchurch), Claire Stewart (New Plymouth), John Chaffey (Hurunui), and Tim Shadbolt (Invercargill).

    The other Mayors in attendance included Frana Cardno (Southland), Pat O'Dea (Buller), Sukhi Turner (Dunedin), Jenny Brash (Porirua), and Yvonne Sharp (Far North).

    (left) Tariana Turia, Associate Minister of Maori Affairs (Social Development), Associate Minister of Social Services and Employment (Social Services)
    (right) Laila Harre, Minister of Youth Affairs, Minister of Womens Affairs, Associate Minister of Commerce, Associate Minister of Labour.

    The other Ministers in attendance included Margaret Wilson, Minister of Labour and Minister in Charge of Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations; Parekura Horomia, Minister of Maori Affairs, Associate Minister of Social Services and Employment (Employment) and Associate Minister of Education; Philida Bunkle, Minister of Customs, Minister of Consumer Affairs, Associate Minister for Economic Development; and John Lepper, from the office of Jim Anderton, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Economic Development.